GSPM Trailblazer Award Winners

2021 Vote Lead Impact Trailblazers in Politics Awards

The Graduate School of Political Management and Vote Lead Impact recognized the successes of four GSPM graduates who were honored as Trailblazers of the year, celebrating their efforts to inspire and motivate the next generation of political leaders and GSPM students. These awards are presented biennially.

The 2021 Trailblazers in Politics award winners are:

Janelle Brevard, Chief Storyteller for the National Association of REALTORS®

Charly Carter, veteran advocate, organizer, strategist, and trainer

Dennis Johnson, Managing Director for Strategy & Evaluation, Mother Cabrini Health Foundation

Phillip Thomas-Wallace, Director of Federal Government Affairs, Walmart

Ivan Ruffin, Management Analyst, US Government Accountability Office

Remmington Belford, Communications Director for Congresswoman Yvette D. Clarke (NY-09)

Jenae Holloway, Associate Director of Special Events, Vogue

Janelle Brevard


Charly Carter


Dennis Johnson




Phillip Thomas-Wallace


Ivan Ruffin


Remmington Belford


Jenae Holloway




The 2019 Trailblazers in Politics award winners were:

Sheena D. Franklin, Founder/CEO of Well-Kept Beauty

Christopher Harvey, Legislative Assistant, U.S. House of Representatives

Jessica G. Smith, Community Engagement & Communications Manager, 11th Street Bridge Park

Ashley Williams, Trip Director to Vice President Joe Biden, Biden for President Presidential Campaign


Award winners group shot


Friends group shot


The 2017 Trailblazers in Politics award winners were:

Jeanine Henderson Arnett

Samantha Foy

Keysha Brooks-Coley

DeJuana L. Thompson